Addison Beagle of Liberty North High School is this year's recipient of the Evelyn Gates Award for Best Kansas City Subway Volleyball Player.

Addison Beagle of Liberty North High School is this year’s recipient of the Evelyn Gates Award for Best Kansas City Subway Volleyball Player.


Addison Beagle is the 2021 recipient of the annual Evelyn Gates Award, recognizing the best varsity volleyball player in the Kansas City area.

The announcement was made Thursday morning at Liberty North High School, where Beagle is a senior who has pledged to continue his education and volleyball career next season at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa.

Beagle is the first Liberty North Eagle to win the award. She received a traveling trophy to display at her school and a $ 500 stipend for her school’s sports department.

Each year, a committee made up of coaches from high schools in the region selects a recipient who embodies “high performance skill, spirit and sportsmanship,” as noted on the WIN for KC portion of the website. the Kansas City Sports Commission.

The other three finalists for this year’s award were:

  • Ashley Mullen, Liberty
  • Chloe Kaminski, Blue Springs
  • Sydney Handel, Lee’s Summit West

Evelyn Gates, a retired histology technician at KU Medical Center, has officiated volleyball, softball and basketball games on the subway for more than 45 years. She was a strong supporter of high school girls’ sports.

“As we look to the future and continued success of women’s athletics, it is important to recognize trailblazers like Evelyn Gates, whose passion, commitment and support have impacted dozens of women. thousands of high school athletes, ”Jessica Blubaugh, director of WIN for KC said in a statement. declaration.

“His lasting legacy is a testament to both his officiating career and his mentorship during the Title IX movement.”

Past winners

2021: Addison Beagle, Liberty North

2020: Honorable mentions, 29 of them (no winner due to COVID)

2019: Ellie Bolton, St. James Academy

2018: Ellie Bichelmeyer, Académie Sainte Thérèse

2017: Annika Welty, Park Hill South

2016: Madison Lilley, Blue Valley West

2015 : Orie Agbagi, Oak Park

2014 : Lexi Hart, Truman

2013: Anna Kropf, Académie Sainte Thérèse

2012: Cheyanne Lyons, Raymore-Particulier

2011: Paige Brown, St. James Academy

2010: Hanna Forst, St. James Academy

2009: Marianne Beal, Lee’s Summit North

2008: Jessica Kopp, Lee’s Summit West

2007: Kathleen Ludwig, Bishop Miege

2006: Michelle Jantsch, Académie Sainte-Thérèse

2005: Erin Birmingham, Park Hill South

2004 : Sammie Williams, Fort Osage

This story was originally published November 11, 2021 11:11 am.

Kansas City Star Related Stories

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.